Glad I had a tourniquet

Ya I’m an old soldier. now retired. Ive had a lot of training thankfully. It saved me. But I was bleeding very severely and was applying high pressure when my son put the RATs on my leg. Still have no feeling in the leg unfortunately.
It was more a generic statement more than anything else.

WOW!!!

I was going over an old barbed wire fence.
The wire snapped Like a rubber band, I was straddling over the wire when it went. A BARB CUT THROUGH MY WOOL COVERALLS, MY DENIM PANTS, MY WOOL LONG UNDERWEAR. It scratched the skin over my femoral artery.
I would have been dead before I got back to my truck.
I now carry a packet of fast clout sheets in my pack on an outside pocket.
It may not have saved my leg but maybe my life.
I don't know how I would have used a tourniquet with a cut like that.
About all you can do there is put the CAT as high up on your leg as you can.

How are you now? How long were you non-weight bearing? That’s so crazy, and I’m happy someone found and refreshed this, or my eyes may have never been opened to it… building houses every day, I think a ton about the nails that may not be entirely sunk or staples that shine thru. There’s always still rookies that are too lazy to bend them over or pull them and injuries happen almost daily on construction sites. Certainly a tool that would be worth adding to my hunting pack and the work trailer.