Gastro Gnome - Eat Better Wherever

Float trip fishing kit - Idaho Lower Salmon and Snake

T Bone

Fisherwussies,

In a couple weeks we are taking a family float trip down Idaho's lower Salmon and Snake rivers. We put in at Whitebird and take out 5 days later.

I have room for a spinning rod and minimal tackle.

I have little experience with smallmouth. What would you take for tackle?

Wussies yourself!

If I had room for minimal tackle, I would probably go with an assortment of Panther Martins, heavy on blacks, reds, and yellows with a gold blade.

If you have room for a little more, I'd throw in some lead jig heads and a small assortment of tube baits in browns, greens, and oranges with metallic flake in them. Probably 1/8 to 1/4 oz heads.

http://1source.basspro.com/index.ph...hing-tackle/831-tube-bait-basics-for-smallies

The jigs will be easier to fish with a little stiffer rod. A softish spinning rod won't have enough backbone to get really good hook sets on bass.

I second what JLS said. My personal fave on smallies is a black and white stripe No. 2 Mepps. It did well at Brownlee yesterday.

Made that same float a couple of years ago and did well on small motor oil mister twister jigs. Anything that looks like a crayfish will do well. Caught several on a fly rod using crayfish patterns. Most fun was catching them on hopper patterns after the sun left the canyon floor. Catching 3-4 lb. smallies on 4 wt. fly rod gets you out of the "fisherwussie" category in a hurry.

you cant go wrong with tube baits or gary yamamoto senkos. If they are feeding on minnows, the smallest size berkley ripple shads are great also!