First time elk hunter in Idaho

jeffraines

Planning on picking up an Idaho A tag and hunting archery this year. I’ve seen the idea that some zones are more “beginner” friendly but it’s mostly in older threads and not sure of the current relevance.

I had thought about Salmon or Beaverhead but at 12 hours away I think trying to go for a 5 day scouting trip plus a trip or two out for the hunt itself might be asking a bit much... but if that’s my best bet then I guess I’ll make it work.

Would love to discuss beginner zones via pm and what to expect(hunter pressure, access, etc). I’ve done some reading on elk101 and some other resources so I’m not looking for someone to send me spots/locations of the nearest biggest bull that has been recently begging for an arrow from a complete newbie.

Thanks in advance guys.

Guess I am not sure what you mean by a beginner zone? Idaho is really diverse. Some zones are very conducive to glassing, others not at all. Most all of it is steep. Some is really steep.

Guess I am not sure what you mean by a beginner zone? Idaho is really diverse. Some zones are very conducive to glassing, others not at all. Most all of it is steep. Some is really steep.

I guess I should've mentioned some more stuff in my first post. Most of my hunting is in the alpine of the cascades for bear during the fall these days - trying to branch out and try some other stuff. I'd say the stuff I'm used to is fairly steep, but then again I'm not looking at packing a 400+lb animal out of there either.