Elk Escapades of Etolin Island

In conclusion:
We were lucky with weather in October in SE. There are times would I would have murdered for a set of rhino Gps.
Cork boots, a must. My recommendation to by a pair of boots that you normally wear, break them in, then send them to hoffman to get corked. That way you have the same boots you normally wear in both corked and uncorked, already broken in.
Rain gear. Oct, in SE is no place for mamby pamby, goretex or event or whatever else, bring real rubber commercial grade raingear.

Would I do it again? Hell yes, in a heartbeat. Do I regret giving up my tag? Hell no.

I'm not very experienced with scoring animals. In fact I've NEVER scored anything I've shot. That's not what makes a trophy a trophy to me. That said, I did some googling and used the worksheet and the info on the B&C website. Ran a tape over the bad boy, and came up with a C-hair over 339. All the animals in alaska get scored as Roosevelts, and the minimum is 290. So far, from what I know, no animals from AK have been entered. Though I know of two (three now) that would and did qualify.
The biologist practically died of heart attack when D showed him the rack. Said it is def. top three biggest of all the elk he has seen taken off the island. Potentially the largest.

Ok. Im done typing. Any questions?

Edit:
Oak: no bear trouble. did not even see any sign of bear. All we saw were 3 deer, and 30 elk.

Last edited:
Man, awesome chronicled event! Thanks for the time put into the story and pics!

Congrats all around. "D" has to be one hell of a happy hunter!

Great stuff - thanks again for sharing!

Sounds like a fun hunt. Heck of a bull, too.

Cork boots, a must. My recommendation to by a pair of boots that you normally wear, break them in, then send them to hoffman to get corked. That way you have the same boots you normally wear in both corked and uncorked, already broken in.