Caribou Gear Tarp

Colorado first rifle season?

pasteve

Is it possible to draw an elk tag for the first rifle season as a nonresident with zero preference points? If what units? I have never hunt elk or traveled west so any advice or links to research would be greatly appreciated! Thank you

Is it possible to draw an elk tag for the first rifle season as a nonresident with zero preference points? If what units? I have never hunt elk or traveled west so any advice or links to research would be greatly appreciated! Thank you

Welcome to the forum.

I just logged into my INSIDER draw odds at goHUNT.com and did a search criteria for 1st Season Rifle hunts in Colorado with zero points. A lot of units came up. So the answer is, yes, you can.

I suspect you will find the entire list at this link on the CPW website - http://cpw.state.co.us/thingstodo/Pages/Statistics-Elk.aspx

Download the draw recap report and it is all in that report.

Yeah, possible in a few units. I am a resident, but I was able to draw a 1st rifle tag in Unit 18 this past season as my 2nd choice. There is a reason that those tags are available without preference points and not even using your first choice (so you can still get a preference point). Overall success rate for the unit that I hunted is around 14%.

Yep. Definitely possible. Last year I tagged a bull in a unit during the 1st season with a tag I drew with no points. It's not the biggest elk in the world, but I'm thrilled with it. And it tastes great.

Last edited:
Actually really easy in a few units, we hunt in unit 14 and draw no problem. Killed my first bull in 1st rifle in 2014. This year we will be bow hunting but will apply for mule deer, let you know if we draw.

Not only can you draw w/ 0 points, but some units you can draw as a second choice (which allows you to build points) or buy a tag in August as a leftover. Learning to read the drawing statistics is a good place to start.