Use Promo Code Randy for 20% off OutdoorClass

Colorado Elk

Alexvd

Hello all,

I am fairly certain I will be trying to kill an elk with a bow in Colorado for two weeks in September. This will be not only my first time hunting elk, but visiting a western state period. I am 24, in good shape, and will be hunting with a buddy. I also have experience chasing whitetails on public land with a bow. I’m really not seeking advice on particular units or spots but rather looking for general tips that some of you may have used to be successful on previous hunts. So if there is anything you feel like you wish you would’ve known as a beginner, I would appreciate if you’d share.

Other than seeking general information, my research has led me to more specific questions that I would appreciate your opinion on:

1) How much of a difference in hunting pressure would you expect to see between an OTC unit vs a unit that has had high draw success for people with no points in previous years? I have been studying units on Toprut but am curious to see what people with experience have actually seen in the field.

2) With backcountry camping being such a common thing, how much of a benefit do you see in carrying camp on your back while hunting?

3) While it would be awesome to kill a bull, I have realistic expectations about the challenge of bow hunting these animals on public land. However, if you were to pick two weeks in September that would give you the best shot at seeing and hearing elk, which two weeks would you choose? And why?

I realize that this is a lot, but I would be super appreciative of any information that you guys are willing to share.

Thanks in advance,

Alex

1) How much of a difference in hunting pressure would you expect to see between an OTC unit vs a unit that has had high draw success for people with no points in previous years? I have been studying units on Toprut but am curious to see what people with experience have actually seen in the field.