Caffeine and accuracy

Never checked caffeine effects. I have noticed a definite effect from lack of rest and high stress when skeet shooting. My best scores are when I am less stressed and don't give a crap about my score.

How about having Mrs. Fin give you your coffee in the morning? One with caffine and one without. Flooded with creamer so you can't tell the difference? Then after you shoot, she tells you which one she gave you that morning.

This is a great thought. There are a lot of responses here, but if you get to this one, hear me out. I’m an aerospace engineer, and anytime theres a problem with an engine, we’re required to perform a “robust root cause analysis”. Often times they’re very complex problems with no obvious culprit. In short, we have to be able to turn the problem on and off, which often requires a great deal of designed experimentation. Having Mrs. Fin make your coffee is a great idea, but dont let her tell you what She served you until you’ve had several range sessions. Report your group information back to her to record after each session, but she must keep it secret for 10 sessions. Maybe mix in 1/2 caff. on some occasions and chart your group sizes. Have fun, and keep us posted.
Pete

Last summer I spent a lot of time measuring my rifle groups on days with my normal morning dose of caffeine and comparing to my groups without caffeine. As expected, the groups were noticeably less consistent after a morning of coffee as compared to the mornings with no coffee. Due to that, I cut out the high octane coffee on most of our hunts last year.