Caribou Gear Tarp

Binoculars vs. Spotting Scope for Mountain Hunting?

kad11

Here is a little background on me to hopefully help put my question in context:

-I did not grow up hunting and just finished my first season this past fall, so I’m very, very inexperienced.
-I hunt as often as I can and as many species as I can (elk, deer, bear, and wolf so far…hopefully goats, pronghorn, and sheep in the future) and my main tactic is to cover as much ground as possible (on foot) looking for sign, animals, etc. Basically I am young and impatient and have not yet disciplined myself to sit down and glass for long periods of time.
-I am VERY interested in hunting the local unlimited sheep district (HD300) and I realize this is a decade or longer commitment if I want to do it unguided. I am a school teacher and have a lot of time during the summers to do the necessary scouting. This is my main reason for looking in to possibly purchasing a spotting scope.

Now to my question: I currently own two pairs of binoculars (10x42 Redfield Renegades and an older pair of 10x50 Steiner Predators). The Steiners were given to me (so I have no money invested in them). Do you think it would be best to sell the Steiners for $300-$400 (I have an interested buyer) in order to help fund the purchase of a spotting scope (probably 65mm, thinking Vortex Viper or Nikon 5 Prostaff, but open to other suggestions as well), or would you hold on to the higher quality Steiner binos and wait a few seasons longer to buy the spotter? The Redfields work great and I don’t see a huge difference between the two binos personally, but that could also be due to my lack of experience…

I guess my question boils down to which piece of equipment is more important for the type of hunting we have in SW Montana? Specifically, how important is a spotting scope for hunting in the unlimited sheep districts and, more generally, how often do you guys use a spotting scope vs. a pair of binos while scouting and hunting?