Sitka Gear Turkey Tool Belt

Big Arizona Bull!

EliAGrimmett

I'm not an elk expert, but I thought this bull was pretty big! What do you guys think it would score? And how much more will it grow?

Screen Shot 2013-06-29 at 10.06.15 AM.jpg

Screen Shot 2013-06-29 at 10.06.36 AM.jpg

Screen Shot 2013-06-29 at 10.06.45 AM.jpg

Screen Shot 2013-06-29 at 10.06.49 AM.jpg

Screen Shot 2013-06-29 at 10.06.58 AM.jpg

Screen Shot 2013-06-29 at 10.07.03 AM.jpg

Screen Shot 2013-06-29 at 10.07.09 AM.jpg

Screen Shot 2013-06-29 at 10.07.25 AM.jpg

I hope it grows a lot more and that it is living in the unit for which I have a tag. That is really good growth for this time of year. I would expect he will grow quite a bit in the next six weeks. With good feed and moisture, he will hopefully develop some good tops and more on the 3rd and 4th.

You ever gonna apply for an elk tag?

I think I've applied a few times in the past. The seasons don't seem to coincide well with my regular job schedule. We'll see, maybe I'll get the itch in the future.

Wow, looks pretty big to me! I don't know if this holds true for elk or not, but back here in the midwest when looking at deer in velvet they say that if the ends of the tines are getting to a point, then they are done growing. If they are still "blunts", then they will grow more yet. I'm no biologist, just what I have heard and seen on local whitetails, so it could be the case with elk as well. maybe,..

Two things. If you put the first pic in the middle of your screen, then move the mouse over to the side bar and scroll down quickly you get a .45 sec video of the elk lowering his head!
He IS a big elk and will likely get bigger still. I hope he evens out some as it looks like his deductions could effect his score quite a bit, IMHO.

Good looking old bull!
2nds are interesting where they come out real close on the beam to his
firsts. Wonder if he has thrown them like that his whole life.