Leupold BX-4 Rangefinding Binoculars

Berger VLD reviews for elk

HuntMT16

I have shot Nosler Accubonds for several years and love them, but my newest rifle absolutely does not like them at all. So now I am on the hunt for a new bullet and as you all know this is not the best time to be shopping for new bullets. As of right now I am just trying to shoot a few different rounds to see what the rifle likes and will group.

I have no experience with Berger bullets but I am looking at trying the Berger VLD hunting rounds, in most likely the 185 grain. The main reason I am looking at these is just because I can actually get my hands on some. But the big question I have is, if my rifle will even group these rounds, are they an effective round for elk? Shot placement is everything and there is no denying that. I have really enjoyed the Accubonds since nothing I have shot with them has gone more than 40 yards before going down, which is the way I like to do things. Can I expect the same results out of the VLDs or in your experience am I looking at slower kills with longer blood trails?

Thanks for your input.

I’ve had excellent results with Berger bullets on game. As far as availability most everything is pretty scarce right now.
Have you considered try Hammer bullets? Their available pretty readily even now.

I will say NO. Here is my response to another question about Berger bullets from last year.

I have personally seen only 1 bull shot with a 190 grain Berger vld from my bros 30-06. It was a standing 340ish yard shot quartering towards us. The bullet penetrated only a few inches and disintegrated. And no the bull did not die with that shot.
Had my bro been shooting a normal bullet the bull wouldn't have required being chased down and finished off.
We poked our fingers numerous times on the tiny fragments from the exploding bullet.