Sitka Gear Turkey Tool Belt

Backpack hunting newbie

feedback

I’m new to backpack hunting, but I’m going to start doing it. My dream hunt goal is Elk, but from all I’ve read is that I should start with pronghorn , muleys, etc.,before going after something the size of Elk. Does anyone have any direction, suggestions, for me on the direction that I plan on going? Thank you in advance for your help, continue to be safe out there and God Bless.

The best thing you can do is get good at backpacking. The specific gear isn’t as important as knowing what the role of each piece is for you, and how your body responds to backcountry work. Without having living out of a pack dialed in you’ll spend most of your time figuring out how to camp instead of hunting. The backpacking part needs to be second nature to be any kind of efficient.

That said, being a “good backpacker” isn’t rocket science, some take to it quick by nature. Read backpacking forums, fastpacking books, backpacking light.com, etc. The only big difference is you obviously need to be able to carry quite a lot of weight regardless of how the weather happens to be.

I would really not bother bp hunting antelope. Good luck and enjoy the journey.

I’m new to backpack hunting, but I’m going to start doing it. My dream hunt goal is Elk, but from all I’ve read is that I should start with pronghorn , muleys, etc.,before going after something the size of Elk. Does anyone have any direction, suggestions, for me on the direction that I plan on going? Thank you in advance for your help, continue to be safe out there and God Bless.
Are you living in a state that's going to offer these sort of adventures or is it going to apply as a NR?

Are you living in a state that's going to offer these sort of adventures or is it going to apply as a NR?
I live in Michigan and we have some very nice backpacking places to go. I’m a newbie as I stated above but I’m not going to let that keep me back.