Are there any HT game wardens out there?

teej89

Hey guys!

Doing a little bit of career searching, I've been working for 7yrs in the construction industry and I have my bachelors and masters in engineering but I'm just not getting what I want out of this career. It's more of a grind long and hard to make the man upstairs more money attitude which isn't appealing to me. I've always wanted to be a warden but my parents told me there's no money in it and pushed for me to do something more technical. Initially I agreed, more money seemed to be better but now I'm starting to realize that it's not it at all. I'll most likely have to reapply to school and I'll get a degree in criminology/criminal justice which won't be an issue. However, I'm currently 30 and I know the cut off is 36 so it'll be cutting it close to get a job but I think it's worth a shot, if I don't try then I'll never know.

Anywho, long story short, I'm wondering if there are any wardens on here that wouldn't mind sharing their opinion of the job and I'd love to ask some questions about your job.

I friend from high school recent became a warden. He went to college for a Criminal Justice degree. Not sure if he'd be willing to discuss or not but I know he was a city cop briefly then a deputy for the county sheriff. I think it was a pretty long road that he took but I know it can be done faster.

He complains a lot about trying to find time for his own personal fishing and hunting but overall likes what he does. He mentioned that he'd like to do trips out west (he's in Nebraska) but doesn't have the time as that's prime deer hunting so he is on duty. I won't claim to know the money but I know the wages aren't good and the hours can be very long.