A Proclamation of Love For A River Bottom

Nameless Range

I have spent very little time hunting river bottoms in my life. Outside of hunting for whitetails with archery gear on Kelly Island near Missoula, when I was a student, I really had none prior to this year.

With the absolute decimation of mule deer in my neck of the woods, I decided this year that I would like to shoot a whitetail. I have permission to hunt a few hundred acres of local river bottom that connects to a bit of public land, and so that is what I did. To add some spice, I borrowed a shotgun from my brother – an Ithaca Model 37. I am the son of a man who bought enough ammunition in the 20th century to make it through the 21st, so the slugs I used were purchased in the early 80s, and were older than me (38).

IMG_3273.jpg

1668427167475.jpeg

I know river bottom is a habitat many hunters hunt, but for me it was been an absolute learning experience, and some of the most fun I have had hunting in my life. It almost became a sickness, and was a hunting that, the minute an individual hunt was over and I was driving home, I found myself wanting to turn around and do it all over again. And essentially, that is nearly what I did.

I grew up hunting mule deer, and last year was the first in my life that I ate a buck tag, and I was surprised to find it felt just fine. That said, I set the goal this year of finding a whitetail, and with doe and buck tags in my pocket, I figured I’d be able to.