Caribou Gear

50 years in Colorado- Relocated to Kentucky not a joke for real

Lab

Grew up and lived my whole life in Colorado. Moved to Kentucky for love. No haters here, HAHA!
Elk hunted my whole life and have taken some decent bulls but excited about the possibility of a 350-400 class bull here in Kentucky.
Now that I am a resident what are my odds? I have heard that each county gets so many allotted tags. Also its a 90/10 resident to non tag allocation.
Any kentucky hunters out there that have some insights.

Best of luck with life in Kentucky. Odds of getting a bull elk tag in their draw is really tough though. Statewide, I think they only gave out like 350 bull tags in 2022. Over 50,000 residents applied, I believe, so… You’ll probably still have a better chance of killing a Colorado bull.

I believe Kentucky does have some landowner-type tags available, but I don’t know anything about that. I’m sure they’re spendy.

My sister and her family left CA for KY, and couldn't be happier. I left CO for Iowa a few years ago. I think we will continue to see a trend of people chasing a more reasonable cost of living. Good luck to you, I know my sis really likes KY.
Kentucky has been wonderful- The best thing about moving is it opens your eyes to all the great places out there. Tunnel vision for sure in Colorado. The cost of living here is 25-35% less than Colorado. I can now afford to hunt out west in multiple states when I want. I live 50 miles north of Nashville- Nashville is the coolest big city I have ever been to. Hippest too. Amazing city!

Kentucky has been wonderful- The best thing about moving is it opens your eyes to all the great places out there. Tunnel vision for sure in Colorado. The cost of living here is 25-35% less than Colorado. I can now afford to hunt out west in multiple states when I want. I live 50 miles north of Nashville- Nashville is the coolest big city I have ever been to. Hippest too. Amazing city!