Use Promo Code Randy for 20% off OutdoorClass

3-9 vs 4.5-14. Please help

wyoboypt

Ive hunted 22 years with the 3-9x40 vx2 my dad put on my rifle. It’s an awesome scope. Rock solid. Recently I purchased a new rifle and put a 4.5-14 on it. It seems that it requires more effort and more perfect eye placement to get a full image in the scope even on low power. I can shoot my 270 w the 3-9 with my backpack on or off with 0 effort. The new scope not even. Leupold rep told me that the newer 3-9s will not be any better than the 4.5-14 for eye relief, as in the new ones don’t have as big an eye box as the old scopes??? Do I need to try to make more adjustments to make this new scope work? Or should I search for an old vx2? I’m a rookie when it comes to shooting tech and rifle scopes. As is already stated I’ve used the same rifle since I began and never changed anything except the bipod. Thanks

Kind of funny. I’m in nearly the exact same situation down to the caliber gun. Except the 3-9 I took off my rifle was an old vortex, but I did notice the exact same thing you described here with the VX3 4.5-14 CDS

I imagine it will become more natural with time, after shooting the same scope for a while I think we get very used to how they feel, even if they aren’t necessarily better. Interested to see reply’s to this thread, though.

The information I found on the VXII 3-9×40 eye relief is 4.2-3.7
The VX3 4.5-14 is 4.4-3.6
So not enough difference for me to tell. Have you tried to move your scope to see if that helps? I always keep my scope loose, close my eyes, mount the gun to my shoulder, and then open them until I have a perfect sight picture. Once I do that I make sure everything is level and torque down the rings.