Use Promo Code Randy for 20% off OutdoorClass

Wyoming Legislators Propose Lowering Hunting Age

It should be 10 for all kids who can pass the hunter safety. Right now as a WY resident my son hunts out of state because he can at age 10, but has to wait 2 extra years to hunt here in his home state... Why? Because someone somewhere made an arbitrary judgement on all people.

neither bull goes far enough to open up and encourage youth hunting opportunities...

It should be 10 for all kids who can pass the hunter safety. Right now as a WY resident my son hunts out of state because he can at age 10, but has to wait 2 extra years to hunt here in his home state... Why? Because someone somewhere made an arbitrary judgement on all people.

neither bull goes far enough to open up and encourage youth hunting opportunities...
How is 10 any less arbitrary than 12?

Maybe it should be 14 like it used to be.

No matter how well intentioned, always some carnival barker whining about something.

If you lower the age to 10, some chitbird will whine because its not 9.

How is 10 any less arbitrary than 12?
Haha. It is exactly my point and why I put it in my comment. It should be a decision made by a parent. In some states there is no min age. But I still feel if a kid can pass hunter safety, then they should be able to hunt. Each kid is different and as such it seems lunatics to punish the ones that are able and can successfully hunt...

Haha. It is exactly my point and why I put it in my comment. It should be a decision made by a parent. In some states there is no min age. But I still feel if a kid can pass hunter safety, then they should be able to hunt. Each kid is different and as such it seems lunatics to punish the ones that are able and can successfully hunt...
What leads you to believe good choices are made by parents with regard to kids in sports, hunting, school etc?