Which State? CO. WY. MT.

N.E. Deer Hunter

Hello all
I am new to western big game hunting, but a long time Eastern Whitetail deer hunter. I am starting to plan a OYO hunt for 2 weeks in 2014 I will be driving out and camping it which ever state I end up going with. It may seem early to start planning but I would like to make 2 or 3 shorter scouting trips during the season, out to the areas I am thinking about before I apply for tags. I have done some preliminary research and have narrowed it down to one of the three states. Right now i am leaning toward CO as it seems that they have the best odds on drawing a tag. any input on GU or areas to look would be much appreciated. I am really looking to have the experience and shooting a monster trophy is not the most important thing to me (not that it wouldn't be awesome). Thanks for any input to help me out in my research!

What are you planning on hunting and with what weapon? Colorado has alot of public land and some generous OTC tag allocations for archery antelope and elk, plus many rifle elk tags.

Sorry i left that part out. I would like to go for Elk with a rifle but i am open to using a muzzleloader too. I also would like to try and work in a mule deer tag but i realize that may be a stretch as there not always in the same areas. From what learned so far Colorado seems pretty good.

Mule deer tags would be draw only and can sometimes take a good number of points for a NR. Muzzleloader tags would also be drawing for elk. The CO DOW sight has alot of helpful information with interactive maps and statistics and stuff to look at and start with.....

http://wildlife.state.co.us/Hunting/

The elk hunting university 101 articles have some awesome information for a new elk hunter