Which Caliber?

RugerHawg413

I am looking at buying a new rifle and the two that I have come down to are 6.5 creedmoor and .308 Win. I will be using it to hunt whitetail, elk, and pronghorn. With shots out to 600 yards. Thanks for all the info!

If your considering the 308 win for out to 600 yards, I'd go with the 30-06. The 308 win and 30-06 are basically equal out to about 200 yards give or take. The 30-06 out performs at longer distances and there isn't to much you can't shoot with a 165 grain. I'm no expert and I usually don't attempt to shoot that far on game animals. But, that would be my choice.

If you are insisting on 600y and those two options then 6.5cm out performs at the far end due to better BCs.

But first you should consider a shorter max, especially if you are a newer/newish hunter.

And if you insist on 600y I would rather have any one of 270Win, 270WSM, 7mm08, 280Rem, 280AI, 7mmRemMag, 300WSM or 300WinMage over your two preferences.

If you are insisting on 600y and those two options then 6.5cm out performs at the far end due to better BCs.

But first you should consider a shorter max, especially if you are a newer/newish hunter.

And if you insist on 600y I would rather have any one of 270Win, 270WSM, 7mm08, 280Rem, 280AI, 7mmRemMag, 300WSM or 300WinMage over your two preferences.
I agree, 600 yards is a little to far, more like 400 yards (at tops) is about right. I have a 7mmRemMag and I love it. Thanks for the info!

I agree, 600 yards is a little to far, more like 400 yards (at tops) is about right. I have a 7mmRemMag and I love it. Thanks for the info!
At 400y any of 260Rem, 6.5cm, .270, 7mm08 or 280Rem will be great non-magnum options to add to you arsenal and all will work with proper shot placement and a quality big game bullet. 280AI, 270WSM and 300WSM are probably too close to your 7RM to make a change worthwhile (unless you just want a new gun).