MTNTOUGH - Use promo code RANDY for 30 days free

Weatherby SA-08???

wolfpup

I am wanting a new shotgun. I have been shooting a Remington 870 for the past 20 years and think I want a semi-auto. Anybody have one and love it or had one and hated it? Seems to be a good price / value.

I don't have experience with that specific one but have heard good things. I have a gas operated semi auto that is about the same price range, one thing gas guns are known for is not liking to be ran dirty. Mine starts to hang up after running 4 boxes of shells through it.

Semi autos are fun when dove hunting!

Mine has been reliable and soft shooting. That said, unlike my browning silver and gold hunters you have to change the friction ring when you move between target loads and heavy waterfowl loads.

We have this and the Mossberg Sa-20. Both are Turkish imports of very similar if not identical design. The weatherby was finicky about cycling some shells while the mossberg worked flawlessly at a cheaper price point. Easy win for the mossberg.

If looking for a value gas 12ga I would go Mossberg 930. If value 20ga I would go Mossberg sa-20. If $899 is in your budget I would definitely go Benneli Montefeltro - the best semi auto for under $1000 in my opinion.

Last edited:
I bought a youth 20 gauge sa-08 for my kid this summer. We've put 4-5 boxes through it without issue. FFL I got it through had good things to say about them with his kids. Not sure we'll keep it long term when he outgrows it, as I'm partial to my benellis, but for now its been great.

X2 on the Benelli Montefeltro! I'll also add Winchester SX3/4s, great guns.

Any chance you can hold any of them? Fit is everything!