PEAX Equipment

Ways to hunt Bear

1_pointer

I am not trying to start a fight with this, but I am not sure that I would like hunting over a bait. I am not adamant on this because I have never hunted over one and I WILL do it before I condemn anyone for doing so. But I was wondering if there are other ways to hunt bears? I know that people use hounds. Do many people have success spot and stalking bears or calling them in?? Thanks for any information.

I've never hunted with hounds or over bait either. For one reason it's illegal to do so in the state of Montana. Every bear hunter in the state uses the call/spot and stock method and with a great deal of success. I have been hunting bears for quite a few years and have only gone 4 times in 18 years of bear hunting without filling the tag. Spot and stock is a very good method and works well, especially when combined with a call. If you've never hunted that way I recommend you give it a try. Good luck.

P.S. I don't like to bad mouth any means of legally harvesting a game animal, but I don't see where anyone can call taking an animal over bait hunting. I don't mean to offend, just don't agree with this method of harvesting any animal.