Tucson/Arizona Hunting

AH64DMatt

Well, I posted months ago that I was going to move to the Tucson area. I finally made it.

This is truly beautiful country. Of course, the heat hasn't set in yet, but I'm looking forward to the challenge. Now, for the most important of issues:

Hunting. I've never hunted out here, and the land looks like another planet compared to the Southeast and Midwest. What's the best way to get the lay of the land for deer, elk and other huntable animals? I also have no idea on how to get tags here. Since I'm a resident, I hope I didn't miss the cutoff for tags.

Ideally, I'd like to get some venison and elk in the freezer this next season. Right now I don't care about trophies, just having quality meat in the freezer and stories to tell!

Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks so much.
Matt

Matt, you're in Coues deer and Desert Muley heaven...You've miised the Elk/Lopes draw, but deer in a lot f the units are OTC...Don't forget the Javi's also!

By mid May you can apply for deer and the deadline is early June. However you can only be considered a resident if you have been living in the state for 6 months prior to the date of the hunt application. That being said you are in the middle of the best coues whitetail country anywhere. I love units 35A and 35B. Due to all the illegal alien and drug runner activity there are plenty of tags left over from the draw that can be purchased over the counter. The exception being the Dec rut hunts. Prepare yourself for the heat. May and June are friggin hot but at least the humidity is low and the night cool off nicely. July and August are absolute hell on earth. 55% - 65% humidity may not sound bad to someone from the south, but when its 112 during the day and 90 at night you'll be questioning why you moved here. One last thing, if you want to make a lot friends in Tuscum, buy yourself an ASU shirt and wear it proud. GO SUN DEVILS!!!!!!!