Gastro Gnome - Eat Better Wherever

Tow/Recovery straps.

Huntkook

I couldn't find what I was looking for thru past post, so what recovery/tow straps do you recommend and/or use?

I have ARB strap that has worked well. Wasnt very expensive and has pulled a few vehicles out of trouble. NO hooks just loops.

Ditto what MTLabrador and Rzrbck said.

I've been watching an offroad recovery guy on Youtube who uses kinetic energy ropes instead of the solid tow straps. They seem to work quite well, although I have no personal experience with them. I'm guessing there's a tradeoff somewhere or situations where you wouldn't want any give in the strap.

Short straps are nice but I have a piece of 1-1/2" rope about 75 ft long with a loop in one end. It's come in handy when you need some distance. Always use a bowline knot so you can get it back apart. I have one that is now 2 shorter pieces when I let a friend tie the knot and we had to cut it apart, lol.

The other reason I like this is no hooks or shackles (or chains) as they are dangerous as hell when things go wrong. Piece of rope might hurt you but it won't smash your windshield and cave your skull in if something snaps or comes loose.

I've been watching an offroad recovery guy on Youtube who uses kinetic energy ropes instead of the solid tow straps. They seem to work quite well, although I have no personal experience with them. I'm guessing there's a tradeoff somewhere or situations where you wouldn't want any give in the strap.
I think I watch the same show, haha. I have a kinetic rope as well, although I have yet to use it. They look like they work well in the videos. I also picked up a couple soft shackles to use instead of the clevis shackles.

The longest heavy duty one you can find with two sewn loops instead of hooks.
This ^^^^^