Top 5 Tags

Mainer207

If you were a newbie and could only build points for 5 tags what would they be?

This is my first year building points and so far I’ve gone for MT deer bonus point, MT elk bonus point, WY deer, and WY antelope. I don’t have a 5th yet but after this thread I may....

Keep in mind that ideally you’re hunting out west every year/every other year so OIL tags may not be the best approach.

I am a newbie and here's what I'm doing.

MT deer/elk combo points
Wyoming deer, elk, and antelope
Colorado deer and elk.

If I had to narrow it down to five, I'd do MT (which is one license), all 3 in WY, and CO elk.

I just started really hammering the apps this year and so I am fairly new as well.
Arizona Elk
Wyoming Elk
Colorado Antelope
Colorado Deer
Colorado Elk
That's my list if we are looking for something that takes few years to draw for a reasonable hunt. There are tons of good units in Colorado so I have no desire to ever make it past 2 or 3 points for elk there. I also only plan on hunting general tags in Wyoming so hopefully 2 or 3 there as well. I plan on Colorado Deer/Antelope every 4 to 5 years and then Arizona 8 to 10.
Thats roughly my strategy for the points states
with Wyoming Antelope and whatever else I can get as often as possible.

I dont really do the point thing unless the number is low. With the exception as a wy res sheep and moosepoints: no points elk/deer/lope. everywhere else point creep aint worth playing. I am looking for a tag within 3-5 years any thing longer no interest. To many good easy to get tags out there that are cheaper (less fees) and just as fun. I would rather shot 3 elk a season every year (like i do) than maybe just one monster maybe 20+ years from now. Honestly i am good with bunches of 300-350ish bulls, love to hunt to much to play point creep, and the creep is only gonna get worse...

Reactions: LCH