Yeti GOBOX Collection

SUV vs. Truck for Upland Rig & Daily Driver?

CRMarks

Does anyone have any advice or pros/cons evaluation concerning whether an SUV or a truck is a better option for an upland hunting rig that also serves as a daily driver? I currently have a Subaru Forester that I love everything about except for the fact that it can't tow anything. I'm just starting out as a primarily upland hunter for dusky grouse and quail across AZ. Other year round fun usage would be for hiking/camping in the AZ high country. I live in Phoenix, so the rig has to reasonably function in a large metropolitan area. My specific considerations for the vehicle are:
1. Budget - $40k (looking the range of preferably a used vehicle 2017 and newer with less than 75k mileage)
2. Towing capacity of greater than 3,000 lbs (I'm looking into getting an expedition-style offroad small travel trailer)
3. Backseat sole use is for carrying my dog every day to the park/training when we aren't in the field (22 lb Britt and I tend to use a harness to buckle her into the seatbelt. I don't have a family, so people carrying isn't a factor.

Thanks for any advice you can share!

I've been hunting, locally, out of an '86 4Runner the last couple of years. No complaints. Plenty of room, Im short enough that I can sleep in the back if I need too, and it keeps everything dry. When we travel out west, we take our 2WD Ford truck, and we've been able to go wherever we need too, and haul big ice chests in the back. Problem is, when it rains, some gear gets wet back there.
If I were in the market for a new rig, I'd consider a 4Runner, or a 4 door Tocama.