PEAX Equipment

Statistics for differentiating between groups?

yakimanoob

Hey folks,

This is a very nerdy stats question. Apologies.

I'm a research and data professional at my day job, and I've had a passion project in mind for awhile to write up an article on using statistical inference for choosing ammo (this would apply to both choosing between factory ammo options or choosing between handloads). But my research has hit a bit of a brick wall.

Can anyone point me in the right direction for statistically testing whether two groups are actually different or if they're just random variations? In other words, say I shoot a 5 shot group with load A that measures 1" and a 5 shot group with load B that measures 3/4". We all know (whether we admit it to ourselves or not) that sometimes the same ammo will shoot 3/4" sometimes and 1" sometimes, so I'm interested in a statistical test to tell me the probability that the two groups are actually different. In a single dimension, this would normally be done with an F-test, but I can't seem to find any examples of a 2-dimensional version of that test.

I went down the rabbit hole of using mean radius to measure groups, and while there's a lot of intuitive value there, to the best of my knowledge there is not an established way to construct confidence intervals or hypothesis tests from the radius metric, since it follows a Hoyt distribution instead of a normal/gaussian distribution.

Thanks!

I am not a statistician - but maybe principal components analysis? I don't think ten shots would give you any kind of decent analysis, but I'm curious what you come up with

Shoot a 20 shot group, and measure . Over on RS there is a long thread about this which will give you a headache, the gist is shoot 20 shots and you’ll know. And Hornady has a YouTube video about it as well.