Caribou Gear

Setting Treestands

jore07

I'm new to setting treestands and will be for a SD whitetail hunt in 2011. I am basically wondering is there any tips that would help me. Also I was curious what height do you all usually set your stands at?

Thanks for all the help.

First and foremost, always wear a harness. I always threw a lock on mine too (even on private). If you're using a climber, be extra cautious if it's raining. I've never used one, but I've heard the bark (at least back East) can get a slick causing you to slide back down. I liked using screw in steps. That way I could removed the bottom few when I left which may have helped to prevent someone from stealing anything. Make sure to take a rope so you can tow your bow/rifle up to you rather than trying to carry it up with you.

It's nice to have a buddy come out with you. That way you can sit in the stand and have him cut a few shooting lanes for you while you're up there. Make sure to bring a pair of long tree limb snips.

I also threw a few of the push pins that light up when they're hit with a flash light in a couple trees around the stand especially if I was hunting a new area. Makes it much easier to find your stand in the dark.

I also taped off 25 yards on a few trees around the stand in case one snuck up on me and I didn't have a chance to range it. Takes some of the guesswork out of things and lets you concentrate more on the shot than estimating your yardage.

Height really depended on the type of forest I was in. I probably average around 15ft.

I know there aren't too many people that use them out here, but I've had a few bucks come into scent bombs. I usually wouldn't use them unless I had been hunting a few days without seeing any bucks.

What part of SD?