AMK Sportsman

Relative Recoil Between Cartridges

CycleFishHunt

I am new to both hunting and shooting, and in the market for a big game (elk/deer) rifle. As I am new, I am looking for a rifle I can spend some time with to improve my accuracy, and not have it totally kick my butt. (Side note: I have a .22LR that I practice with too.)

To find out what I am comfortable with I am trying to get my hands on rifles chambered for various cartridges. But, as I have little experience shooting rifles I am hoping some of you can help tell me if my experience matches their own.

To date I have shot a .308 Win, a 7mm-08, and a .30-06. Both the .308 and 7mm-08 had extremely manageable recoil, and I did not find them uncomfortable to shoot, even after 20 or so rounds.

The .30-06 however felt like getting kicked by a mule. After two shots I had the flinches, and after another shot or two I stopped. It was a decidedly unpleasant experience.

My question is this: is the difference in recoil between these cartridges generally this great, or was it the gun I was shooting?

I know the gun itself can make a big difference so it’s worth noting that the .308 and 7mm-08 were newer guns likely manufactured in the last 10 years, and the .30-06 was my friend's grandfather's 1940s era gun.

I also have a 12 GA, and have shot others and have no problems there either.

Thanks all for your help.

Dougfirtree

Too many variables to really answer your question. Did that '06 even have a recoil pad? There must be a bunch of modern 30-06's in your area. See if you can shoot one. The .30-06 does kick more than the other two, so some increase is very real, even if it's not a huge difference.
That said, a .308, or 7mm-08 is going to serve you very well, so dont worry about just picking one of those. They'll kill any critter in Colorado inside reasonable hunting ranges.

D_Walt