Caribou Gear

Recommendations for New Pack?

MKotur325

Hey all!

I've been using a badlands 2800 for the past 7 or 8 years and it's getting pretty haggered. Over the past couple seasons several of the zipper pulls have broken, and the bag has developed a few tears... I've been reading lots of the pack threads recently, and just want to get some opinions. I also swapped packs with my dad for a season, and he used my 2800, while I swapped for his MR Longbow. I really liked that pack, and at this point, it's probably at the top of the list for me at the moment.

Looking for a daypack for hunting in MT. I really don't want anything bigger than about 3000CuIn. But something in that 2300-3000 range will be plenty... I have a tendency to fill a pack with unnessairy gear to fill the space if I have a big pack...

A few things I've liked about my badlands, I like the option to carry a rifle, though, I will rarely use it, and I like that the badlands has a fair amount of pockets to help organize gear. It also carries reasonably well.

A few things I didn't care for. The badlands is a nice pack, but the main pouch is TINY. About all I can actually fit in the main pouch is a jacket and my lunch. It has a ton of pockets and a ton of storage, but no Large spaces. I liked that about the MR Longbow.

The other thing I really liked about the longbow was, with a jacket on top of the pack, it was just tall enough for me to shoot from sitting off the pack, with the rifle on top of the frame, for a hasty shot this could be quite handy and would also be a plus for a new pack.

I like the idea of an external frame pack with a bag so that I can just get a new bag if needs change.