Use Promo Code Randy for 20% off OutdoorClass

Packable daypack?

dcopas78

Hello all,

I am in the process of doing research for an upcoming elk hunt, and being new to elk hunting, I had a question about daypacks. I am searching for a daypack that would be packable in my main pack, and lightweight. It wouldn't have to be huge, just big enough to carry raingear, puffy, and probably some snacks/ small survival kit etc. I would prefer this type of pack simply because I don't want to have to carry the big pack around all day if I find an area where the elk are. It would definitely be a bonus if it was at least water resistant if not water proof. I appreciate any comments, thanks in advance!

Derek

Tons of choices! I went on my first backpack hunt last fall so I am no expert, but my buddy and I each bought Stone Glacier Solo packs. We packed in for 8 days and our packs were stuffed to the gills. But, after we had set up camp we were able to use this same pack each and every day, all day. It expands and crunches down so well with the compression straps that it didn't matter if it was early AM with very little in it, or mid-day with more clothing stuffed in it. Plus, if you shoot one you already have the pack on your back that you need to make one trips worth of meat back to camp or the truck. (it has an expandable load/meat shelf). We loved them and would recommend them for a great multipurpose pack. I just used mine for a 2 hour Whitetail hunt in bitter cold weather to pack in big heavy boots and extra layers of clothing for myself and daughter to add on after the 3/4 mile walk to the blind.

Last edited:
Better off with a single pack that will do all you want IMO. Might as well get the best.

We have used our Kifaru packs for 11 and 12 years without a single failure. I'm sure somewhere in their product line is a pack that will work to carry in your camp, as a hunting pack and carry out your camp and elk.

www.kifaru.net