Leupold BX-4 Rangefinding Binoculars

Non-Resident first timer question

jbseamus83

My family and I moved to UT in late April of this year from TX. Western hunting is new, as I have spent my entire life hunting in TX. Since we moved here so late, I could not get tags in UT as a resident. I put in for the non-resident anterless draw for antelope, deer, and elk. I also put in for WY anterless deer and antelope. I did not get drawn for any of them.

So, I went back to the drawing board to try and figure out how I could hunt this year. I figured out that I could purchase a leftover tag in WY for anterless elk and deer, so I did. However, the more I research about hunting in WY, the more I realize that I may have made a mistake.

I know that this has probably been covered many times in these forums, but please understand that I am a newbie to this type of hunting and still trying to figure out all the differences between the regs in all the states. Am I correct in my understanding that I will not be able to hunt any BLM, State, or National forest lands on my own in WY?

If so, how do nonresidents hunt WY? What areas are actually available that are not private land? I know that I have watched shows of guys hunting that are not residents that did not seem to have an outfitter with them. Am I wrong in my interpretation? I am not going to pay for an outfitter for 2 anterless tags. What options do I have?

I fully understand that I should have looked into this, and it ultimately falls on me to know the regs before purchasing tags, but I just wanted to hunt, and don't know how to make that happen this year.

ok. So, it looks like I misread it. I just couldn't imagine all of that land being closed off to nonresidents. Thank you! This is very helpful!

I would suggest watching all of Randy's videos on how to draw tags. They are state specific and very detailed.