Need some help with Judging Sheep

Sawtooth

Alright all you bighorn sheep hunting experts. My buddy drew a Rocky Mt. Bighorn tag this year and neither of us have experience in judging sheep. What are some things that we should look for to help us find a mature ram, while looking through a spotting scope from a distance? If you have some pictures of rams and what they scored that would be helpful. My buddy is not trying to make the "Book" or anything, but we also don't want to bust our tails getting to a sheep that we later find to be a youngster. @Oak , @Bambistew , and the rest of the sheep crew any help would be appreciated. Thanks in advance.

I am NO expert but this is what I read and was told. A buddy got a sheep tag here in Montana and I helped him fill his tag. He got a nice ram.
What to look for: Horns drop down below the jaw. Tips come up to or above the nose from the side, unless they are really groomed, but can still have this length if heavily broomed so the horns will be thicker out on the ends. Here is my buddies ram which just went book at 181 2/8. I am not recalling exact measurements but he was about 15 1/2" at the base, right at 40+ inches on the long horn and only a tad shorter on the other horn. Kept his mass fairly well out on the horn. Horns came below the jaw.
1591825091161.png

Next one is a 200 7/8 ram taken in Montana. HE is almost 46" on one side, 49" on the other. little over 15" bases. Huge ram.
1591825354772.png

Good luck on the hunt. Take a ride to the Bison Range and look at some rams, or maybe over by the Missouri Breaks. What area is his tag for?? Got scout there. Never to early to start looking. Look at lots of pictures on the internet and such. The Boone & Crockett web site can help with pictures too.