Mystery Ranch Pop-up 28

PaulRevere

I'm new to hunting and have not invested in a meat hauling pack. I have a Lowe Alpine pack that I use for spiking out, but after a brutal bear pack out last week I decided it's time to upgrade my day pack. For day hunting I've been using a Mystery Ranch Hardscrabble, I tied a Alps Mountaineering gun sling to the bottom and can very easily attach my rifle and carry all the food, water and gear for long days. I've loved my Mystery Ranch bag and have been eye balling the Mystery Ranch Pop-up 28. I appreciate that it is a pretty basic day pack but that the couple days a year I might be lucky enough to be hauling meat, I'd have a comfortable way to load it up. Also, if I wanted to do one night trips in the summer for scouting or shed hunting I might be able to use the shelf to load up my sleeping bag and tent.

Does anyone have any input??

Thanks!

Last edited:
The Popup is a pretty small pack. I'm not sure I'd want to try to squeeze gear for an overnight or weekend in it. I think something in the 3500cuin would suit you better especially if it gets cold and you need an extra layer

The Popup is a pretty small pack. I'm not sure I'd want to try to squeeze gear for an overnight or weekend in it. I think something in the 3500cuin would suit you better especially if it gets cold and you need an extra layer

Thanks for the response Mthuntr. Truly, I have a solid overnight pack so I probably wouldn't use this for that. How do you feel it would rank as just a day hunting pack?

I'd take a look at the MR Pintler size.

Thanks Boomerusaf. The price comparison there is pretty big. 299 vs. 475, not sure I'd be willing to spend that much. I also have 240 store credit to Schnee's and they have the Pop-up available. I was thinking it'd be a good investment for the 59 dollars I'd have to shell out. The Women's Pintler is bad ass though, I tried it on at Bob Ward's and loved it