Missing hunter found. Makes you think.

The primary reason I carry the Zoleo during hunting season is for the SOS function. Dad took a tumble in Idaho several years ago, which thankfully turned out not be a big deal but could have been. We didn't have an SOS device then, and it shook me up enough now that I'll always have it just in case.

The primary reason I carry the Zoleo during hunting season is for the SOS function. Dad took a tumble in Idaho several years ago, which thankfully turned out not be a big deal but could have been. We didn't have an SOS device then, and it shook me up enough now that I'll always have it just in case.

There's about a 15% chance my InReach makes it into my pack on any given hunt. Need to work on that.

Does inreach or another gps work well with onX or another gps app? I'm a total newb when I comes to hunting GPS. I'm aware there's a subscription for garmin's sos/communication features.

Does inreach or another gps work well with onX or another gps app? I'm a total newb when I comes to hunting GPS. I'm aware there's a subscription for garmin's sos/communication features.
There is the Earthmate app for using with the InReach. Garmin doesn’t play with OnX.

As glamorous as it sounds to go out doing what you love, I think my family deserves a bit better than wondering if some raccoon didn’t just sh*t down my half skeletonized neck.

Makes me want to get an inReach even more.

Even packing my elk out this year through maybe 100 yards of really light deadfall, I was thinking, “damn if I fell right now I’d be hosed.” Was only a mile or so from the truck. But in a light wool shirt, no survival equipment, only a headlamp, definitely made me pay a bit more attention. Think those quick little, “I’ll be fine” trips are the ones that go south most often.