PEAX Equipment

Looking for a new rifle

Amand

I am hopefully planning a trip out west next fall for some elk/antelope hunting and was looking for some rifle recommendations. I am pretty new to rifle hunting as all of the gun hunting I have done has been whitetail hunting in shotgun only areas so this will be the first rifle I will own.

The main reason I will be getting the gun will be for my trip out west but it would be nice to having something I could take out to the range and play around with at longer distances for fun as well. I don't mind paying a bit more for quality but at the same time I don't necessarily go overboard for top of the line when I'm not sure how often I will get a chance to make a trip out west to use it.

Thanks in advance for your recommendations.

One other thing to note. I am right handed but left eye dominant. I know this makes a difference with bow hunting and I shoot my bow left handed but have always shot a right handed shotgun. Does this make a difference for a rifle at all?

There are lots of good rifles out there that are simple to buy, simple to find, and are amazingly good. Everybody will have a favorite, but you really can't go wrong with the Remington 700's, Winchester Model 70's, and Ruger 77's. They are all proven designs, with long histories, every sporting goods store will carry them, they hold their re-sale value well. They also make them in all sorts of variations, so you can pick the style/type you want. From pretty pieces of wood with blued steel barrels to composite/plastic/glass stocks and stainless steel barrels. (There are plenty of other good guns; such as the Savage 110 series and some import brands.)