Long term application strategy

glennw89

Hello all. I'm a high school teacher in Ontario, Canada. While we're blessed with some tremendous hunting in Canada, traveling to another province/territory (especially the western ones like Alberta, British Columbia, Yukon, and NWT) to hunt is very difficult. Essentially, you need to either hire an outfitter ($$$) or manage to find a "hunter host" (a resident who fulfills a specific set of requirements and will hunt with you). This makes it very difficult to hunt elk or other western-oriented species.

It's the equivalent of someone from Michigan being mandated to hire an outfitter to hunt elk in Montana.

I've had some good fortune in recent years to take advantage of an opportunity for "Hunter Hosting" in British Columbia to take a mountain goat billy and drew a coveted Eastern Ontario bull moose tag (Tag Soup there) - but I'm someone who loves hunting big game in the backcountry and would love more opportunity.

With my job I am not able to take any time off from September through mid December - hardly ideal for hunting. Thus, I've come to the realization the bulk of my western adventures are going to have to wait until retirement. I'm currently 42 and will be eligible to retire in the spring of 2033 at age of 54.

By my way of thinking, if I amass points in select western states over the next 12 years, I should be able to enjoy many quality hunts in the years immediately following my retirement. I keep myself extremely fit so the physical side will not be an issue - unexpected health issues aside.

I've identified four states: Montana, Colorado, Wyoming, and Arizona. I bought my first Wyoming point last year and just finishing picking up an Arizona point. Simple math says I should have about 12 points in each of the states come retirement. I'd love to be able to do one or two quality hunts per year after retirement.

I bowhunt, rifle hunt, and muzzleloader hunt and have no real preference.