Caribou Gear Tarp

Kayak Fishing Fun and neeeeeed advice

Hammsolo

I am a novice kayak fisherman. With all my knee surgeries I took it up to ease the semi-permanent loss of mountain biking. It has been amazing. I hated fishing with my Dad growing up. I was VERY hyper and the only fishing my Dad would do, or knew to do, was to stand on the shore in a single place and throw out the lure over and over. I drove him crazy with wanting to run around.

I love my kayak because it has become more like hunting. I zip in here and there, and am loving it. I have a lake spot that I am blessed to have access too. I went out last night, and started cruising the edges of the lake. The water was clean and clear, finally settled from run off. Remember, I am NOT a real fisherman. I tell everyone I am a lure tosser. I quickly noticed some large fish surfacing along the reeds. I tossed a green and orange bellied Rapala near the reeds using my little pack spin rod. 1 cast, 2 cast, boom… It was the biggest fish I‘ve hooked into with this set up. She ran out, I reeled her in, she jumped and splashed, I got her close, and I reached for my net… She saw me and gave a big rip and was off….

I spent the next hour or so hunting the edges. I tried all sorts of lures, but nothing else would bite. I gently patrolled and repeatedly saw big bass. They were even hiding in the reeds and pushing them around, but they wouldn’t bite. I’d do everything I can to run the lures past them, but not a whiff.

I spotted no less than 10 mature bass, and 1 old lunker with a gnarly tale and curled lip. Remember that water is crystal clear and in the area it was anywhere from 3 to 5 feet deep I bet with a rocky bottom. I also spotted loads of carp, but I don’t have the equipment to take them on.

What’s my next step? WWMD? What would Michael do? Remember, I am a clueless fool!