In pursuit of my first bull - nothing like I had planned.

Paul in Idaho

I’m not much of a storyteller, but will share my elk season as I attempted to tag my first bull. This is long, since I had 3 separate trips during my season. Spoiler alert - if you’re looking for a story about a hardcore backpack hunt that ends with taking a trophy bull, this isn’t one of those.

I started learning this unit by hunting general seasons and controlled cow tags so I could hunt every year and have a good chance of putting meat in my freezer. Once I was familiar with a few parts of the unit, I started applying for a bull tag. Draw odds being what they are, my earlier applications were unsuccessful. I kept learning the unit and had success filling cow tags. I also bought and tested various items for backpack hunts so I would have reliable equipment for solo backcountry hunting.

In the summer of 2022, I got sick. A year and a half later, after numerous doctor visits and tests, I still have no diagnosis and am dealing with a variety of health problems. Last year, I hunted as much as I could, knowing that if I gave up on hunting, things would be worse. My stamina was reduced, hunts were shorter, and I didn’t fill a tag, but I did as much as I could.

In the 2023 application season I was still weak but decided to try again for a bull tag and do everything possible to be healthy enough to hunt. When the results were announced, I was surprised to see that I finally had a rare opportunity to hunt a bull with a rifle during the rut.

My original plan for a bull hunt had been to have a wall tent base camp far up a remote drainage that has become my favorite area in the unit. I also had picked good spots for spike camps. Those plans changed to using a mobile camp in more accessible spots, and driving more than I like.

IMG_6562.jpg