Caribou Gear

Ice fishing newbie

cwitherow

As the title suggests, I am a complete ice fishing newbie. I spend a lot of time on the water in the summer and early fall, but I have never gone ice fishing. I was recently given an old hand auger, which was the "big ticket" item that prevented me from going. He said if I wasn't planning on spending a lot of money to get a couple tip-ups and head out on a nice day to the lake. For those of you that ice fish often, is this good advice? I am not planning on buying a shelter at this time, so fair weather days only. My other idea was to get one tip-up and then a rod to jig with.

Any help is appreciated. Gear, strategy, etc.

I use a hand auger or even just a chipper, an ice scoop, and a bucket to carry my two 1980s-era rods. No other equipment. I move around making holes over different depths and distance off the bottom, and vegetation structure until I find the panfish schools and then try and catch my limit. Meal worms for sunfish during the day or crappie minnows after dark. It’s a blast. I mostly fished west metro in MN. Ice fishing is more hit and miss in lower tier counties of IA with ice depth, safety, etc.

Figure out what kind of blades your auger takes and get new ones. Hand augers aren’t bad if you have good blades. I would recommend getting the Navionics app fro your phone. Use it to find mid lake humps or reefs. If you don’t have a flasher Start jigging on the bottom and work your way up from their. When you catch a fish remember about how far you were off the bottom and go back to that depth.
@ElkFever2 how much ice do you have down your way? I want to hit up 12 mile and 3 mile in the next couple weeks if there is enough ice.