MTNTOUGH - Use promo code RANDY for 30 days free

Hunting near an active fire

4ohSick

Compared to most here, I'm fairly new to hunting and general off-grid outdoorsy-ness. On Sunday, a forest fire kicked up near the spot I've been archery hunting. Currently on the DNRC fire map, it's showing 650 acres and spread doesn't appear to be confined to any particular direction. To get into the drainage I hunt, the fire would need to spread a half mile or so and then crest a ridge and start burning down the drainage. So I need advice from those more experienced than me - obviously I'll keep an eye on the activity on the fire map, and maybe rain will knock it down, but is it safe and ethically reasonable (ie not risking first responders lives to save my dumb ass) to hunt there this weekend?

One wind event and this will seem like an extraordinarily bad idea.

I watched a fire run over 15 miles in the matter of an hour last year. Some folks almost didn’t get evacuated in time.
^^^^This^^^^

Better to stay out of the area, last thing you want is to get caught up in it. In that case pulling resources off to help you is the least amount of damage... worst case is, ya know, pretty bad.

I think its about playing it smart. Watch the weather forecast, monitor the fire closely. Look at evacuation areas. Make sure you are aware of routes out of where you are hunting. Like others have said, don't risk it if at all you feel at any point there is a risk of all of a sudden being in a situation that could have been avoided.

It's hard to say exactly without knowing the precise setup, but I would err on the side of caution based on what you describe. Landform matters a bunch but is a "known", wind matters more but is far less predictable.