MTNTOUGH - Use promo code RANDY for 30 days free

How many days do you spend in hunting area?

supersider34

Just like the topic asks. Lets see who are the actual hard core hunters we have on this site. I will start out with me for mulies.
I have several friends and family say I hunt a little to much for mulies. I have been riding dirt bikes in the unit I hunt since 1985. But have only archery hunted for the last 5 years. I scout the area average of10- 20 days before season and find trails and tracks and area's deer travel. Find the coming and goings of water and area's they are in. I keep a look out for the animals before season. I see a few deer but there tracks dont lie at where they travel. Might not ever see them but if there are tracks they are there. Then when season starts I locate the doe's. I spend around 30- 45 days hunting during season. Not all days but usually around 2-5 hrs each time and sometimes all days depending on weather for working. Worse the weather more time I spend out and about. I look for now the little bucks and get video of these bucks for next years looking to find them in the same area. Pictues and video do not lie. I even take video of doe's as they even have certain characteristics to them. What area's they hang in and what bucks they let breed them. Also what there escape routes are from different area's. They have like cow elk. Lead doe's. Find the mature doe and she will set her pattern almost to a tee. When I watch them I keep track mentally where they run to. Most of the time they will lead you to certain area's they feel safe in. So I even keep track of the doe's. Some people often overlook this. It's always about the bucks. if you listen to most people thats what you hear. But if the hot lead doe takes off who follows?????