Helical fletching with fixed blade broadheads

Melman

I switched from the Rage extreme broadheads to the Solid fixed blade broadhead. They are the 125 gr model and are basically a 2 blade broadhead with small bleeder blades. My Dad just told me that he read you should use helical fletching to help spin the arrows faster with fixed blade broadheads because the big two blades can steer the arrow if its not spinning fast enough. Does anyone have any insight on this? does anyone shoot a Solid or other brand fixed two blade head and have issues because they don't have helical vanes?

You should always have a helical fletching when shooting broadheads. It will spin the arrow faster, stabilizing it against any other external forces such as wind, hand torque, etc. The effects magnify greatly when you start adding distance. Helical fletching will probably also tighten up your groups.

I've been shooting Thunderhead 100s since 1992. I've found that it doesn't matter. I use to use a helical back when I used 4" vanes. Once I started fleching my own arrows with 2" Blazer vanes, I only put a slight offset to them. I haven't noticed any difference in accuracy at any distance.

Last edited:
I shoot a similar head with 4" helical and still can't get them to group with field points. I finally found the fix after years of fighting this battle just the other night. I put all my field points away and moved my pins to match the broadheads! It's awesome when they work the same but I swear sometimes it's just not possible. My broadheads group great out past my effective range and the arrows fly perfect so I am happy.

If they're not grouping with your field points, they're not flying perfectly. Tune is one aspect, but form is so important with BH's.

If they're not grouping with your field points, they're not flying perfectly. Tune is one aspect, but form is so important with BH's.