Heart rate monitor watch

Irrelevant

Looking for a watch to help me train a bit better. I don't need gps, but I do want an accurate heart rate monitor that has an interface where I can download and track stats. I was thinking maybe a watch that bluetooths to a chest strap as I've heard the optical wrist only ones aren't very accurate. Anyone have any suggestions?

I know you don't need GPS, but my rec has it anyways... I've had a Garmin Instinct Solar for 3 years now and have yet to break it - longest tenured watch I've ever had. With the bluetooth connection to my phone it tracks all the pertinent info, sends it to my phone with any easy to use app.

If you do a Garmin, spend the little extra for a solar version. My watch will go 30+ days between charges, where my wife's will make it all of 2 days before it has to charge again. Not life or death thing, but the convenience is worth it.

I'll second a Garmin product. I've been wearing my Fenix 3 sapphire for 5 years and have had zero issues. I've heard that some of the older Garmins (up to around mine) are less reliable for heart rate tracking, but the internet tells me they've gotten better. FWIW I had a cheaper Fitbit before this and wore them both for a week and they tracked consistently.

If and when this thing finally dies I'll replace it with another Garmin.

I know you don't need GPS, but my rec has it anyways... I've had a Garmin Instinct Solar for 3 years now and have yet to break it - longest tenured watch I've ever had. With the bluetooth connection to my phone it tracks all the pertinent info, sends it to my phone with any easy to use app.

If you do a Garmin, spend the little extra for a solar version. My watch will go 30+ days between charges, where my wife's will make it all of 2 days before it has to charge again. Not life or death thing, but the convenience is worth it.