NEW SITKA Ambient 75

First diy hunt.

dado5

Well I am definitely going diy backcountry archery elk hunting this year. As of now alone, possible with a friend. I have been training for 6 months already. I have never hunted out west. My plan as of now is OTC Colorado. anybody have recs for units? I imagine I would hike in 2-3 miles to set up camp but maybe less or more is realistic. I want to get away from the crowds. I will have many questions coming up in the next few months but need to focus on an area first.

Welcome to the forum! I would tell people about youself and interact with fellow hunt talkers first before asking a bunch of questions. There is a TON of great information on here so spend time going through past threads to answer some of your questions. From January-October there is a lot of guys that become a member once they draw a tag or plan a trip WANTing info, ask for help on unit, and then disappear. It's annoying so hopefully you stick around and share your experiences and help others. As far as CO goes, there are elk in every unit. Pick an OTC unit and break it down and scout/study it. Go on the fish and game website and plan your hunt as they provide a wealth of knowledge and options! Good Luck this fall!

Well I am definitely going diy backcountry archery elk hunting this year. As of now alone, possible with a friend. I have been training for 6 months already. I have never hunted out west. My plan as of now is OTC Colorado. anybody have recs for units? I imagine I would hike in 2-3 miles to set up camp but maybe less or more is realistic. I want to get away from the crowds. I will have many questions coming up in the next few months but need to focus on an area first.

Congratulations on making up your mind to do it alone, if need be. I spent too many seasons waiting on buddies to come through. Now, I go somewhere every year, whether the buddies back out or not.

If it is your first trip out west, you are in for a real treat.