First Archery Deer

dalbo

I've been chasing deer in Arizona with my bow off and on for the last twenty years or so. Three years ago I decided to get serious about the January archery season and learn a few new areas close to home and was rewarded with several blown stalks and one missed shot.

I was able to burn some vacation time and schedule 4 day weekends throughout January. I spent the first three days of the year with friends at our javelina camp which is always a blast. I had one run in with a small mulie buck on the last morning but he was about ten yards out of range.

The second weekend I decided to dust off some of my old backpacking gear and do a quick overnighter in an area that usually has good numbers of deer and javelina. A delayed start on Friday meant I couldn't get as far in as I wanted before dark but still gave me a big head start over guys coming in from the trailhead.

DK10.jpg