Leupold BX-4 Rangefinding Binoculars

Fat / Silver Skin / Connective Tissue

LCH

I've been processing all of my own big game for about 10 years now. I do anywhere from 5-10 animals a year, but am still figuring some stuff out as I go.

The last couple years, I've been making extra efforts to remove as much silver skin and similar matter as possible during processing, where as in the past I would tend to get lazy and send more through the grinder. It takes time, and reduces my total yield a bit, but results in a better product. Overall, I take about 8 hours to do a deer and probably 12 hours to do an elk.

If I know I'm going to slow cook a particular cut I don't trim as much, but really I mostly just cut steaks and grind burger.

I don't do much or any trimming in the field, because when I remove the silver skin in the kitchen most hair and dirt goes with it.

I've also done some experimenting with aging bone-in on ice in a cooler, and silver skin seems to come off a lot easier after aging a week or so.

How do you all manage the aforementioned matter, from field to processing? Trim it off and leave it in the field? Leave it on and do more trimming at the dinner table?

I’ve always hunted and processed game with my dad and grandpa. Grandpa believes every last shred of meat is good and should be at least put in the grind bucket. Often a lot of connective tissues/silver skin/fat makes it in there too. He packages “steaks” that I’d say are questionable to even go in the grind.
Dad is more picky about what gets packaged.
As I’ve gotten older I’ve become the most picky and diligent trimmer.
Eating the three levels of burger and steaks side by side I can definitely taste the difference. Less in the burger, but definitely in the steaks.
We do the vast majority of trimming at home before we package and freeze.
If I have time I’ll cut off big pieces of fat etc in the field.

Reactions: LCH