Fall 2019 Iowa Deer and Turkey

Pucky Freak

Oct 1st kicks off archery deer and turkey in my home state. I have a stack of tags: either sex bow turkey, either sex gun turkey, either sex bow deer, either sex shotgun deer, and six additional doe tags. Not that I realistically have enough time to fill all of these (I don't). But there's always a "what if" I do fill the tags, I can keep hunting through January without having to worry about running out. Last year I struck out on deer, so my commitment this year is ample time scouting and more days hunting.

This is my first year shooting and hunting with a compound bow. While it is fun in and of itself, I also intend it to be practice for future elk hunting via spot and stalk, use of a rangefinder, gutless method (for deer), and packing out with game bags. I've got to where 30 yards is a chip shot, and 45 is my max deer distance, but only with perfect conditions.