Gastro Gnome - Eat Better Wherever

Duck hunting advice for a beginner

RyeGuy74

Just wondering if anyone had any advice for someone who's attempting their first North Dakota public land solo duck hunt? I've been scouting and have some good ideas where they'll be if nothing drastically changes come September. However, I will attempting this with 6 decoys, maybe a MOJO or two, no dog and boat to retrieve ducks so if they don't fall where I can walk, I'll be waiting for the wind to blow them into shore. I went waterfowl hunting last year so I am not walking into this completely blind but any help on locations, decoy placements, calling, and/or any other advice would be greatly helpful. Thanks in advance!

I hunted waterfowl for the first time this past season, so I'm no expert. If you can swing a craigslist kayak and some camo spray paint I think it's worth it.

My concern would be what happens if the wind doesn't blow for your retrieves. Consider some plan B's;
1) fishing rod and top water lure
2) small inflatable raft
3) swimming suit

I've done 2 of those, when I was young.

My concern would be what happens if the wind doesn't blow for your retrieves. Consider some plan B's;
1) fishing rod and top water lure
2) small inflatable raft
3) swimming suit

I've done 2 of those, when I was young.
I was actually considering the fishing rod idea! I have a lot of those.

I like your name, so I’m happy to help.
I’d say focus on setting up exactly where you’ve seen the most ducks. If it’s a pond and they’re always on the North side right next to a few stumps, put your decoys next to the stumps, not 20 yards away. If you’re in the right spot it’s not as big of a deal how many decoys you have or how good your calling is.
Learn to call but focus on simple quacks, clucks, and feeding sounds. You shouldn’t sound like 100 ducks if you only have 6 decoys. I like a double reed call and feel like they’re easier to master.