Use Promo Code Randy for 20% off OutdoorClass

DIY pronghorn euro - stinky prongs

GAdrahthaar

I'm trying to do my own euro mount of my pronghorn buck this year. The skull is currently chain wrapped and sitting in a little pond, hoping the fish do the hard work for me. This is my first attempt at this method, if it fails I'll give the fire ants a chance. But I'm at a loss for how to clean the prongs. They smell like hot death inside. How do I clean them without destroying them? thanks

Do you mean the horn sheaths? Fill them with borax and let them sit until dry...a couple weeks maybe in the garage. Don’t let them sit in the sun and rain. They are basically just made of hair....they eventually fall apart if you don’t take care of them.
Yep, wasn't sure how to handle the sheaths. I knew they would fall apart but wasn't sure what to do so I just stuck them in the freezer. Just fill them with powdered borax and set somewhere cool/dry/sunless? thanks for the help

Yep, wasn't sure how to handle the sheaths. I knew they would fall apart but wasn't sure what to do so I just stuck them in the freezer. Just fill them with powdered borax and set somewhere cool/dry/sunless? thanks for the help

That’s what I do. They’ll always smell “antelopey” but they shouldn’t smell rotten. Check them in a couple weeks. If still gooey or stinky, freshen the borax and let it go a little longer. It’s very dry here, so might take longer in higher humidity.

That’s what I do. They’ll always smell “antelopey” but they shouldn’t smell rotten. Check them in a couple weeks. If still gooey or stinky, freshen the borax and let it go a little longer. It’s very dry here, so might take longer in higher humidity.
Awesome. thanks

You need to make sure that lining is not still inside them, it's thin material that will rot and stink if not removed. Borax may take care if it's in there but we always get it off the cores or from the inside the sheaths.