Use Promo Code Randy for 20% off OutdoorClass

Colorado wolves

Very interesting! I agree that is compelling footage for a good wolf ID, and the story recounting the howling seems legit. It’s tough to get a good sense of the ear shape and height, but they don’t look huge like Coyote ears. Couldn’t get a good look at the tails either. What struck me as good for wolf is the coloration of the front animal, including the distinct white facial patch. Caveat: coloration is tough as a definitive ID though. This is true of many species. The size and gait of the critters also strike me as wolfy, but better reference points would be helpful.

I’ve been an avid wildlife photographer and birdwatcher for a long time - I geek out on species ID and I’ve spent a lot of time watching and photographing wild canines. I personally wouldn’t make a certainty ID call based on that video, but won’t argue with those who do. That being said, I know CO has already had multiple documented Gray Wolves.

See below for decent comparison photos of a wolf and coyote I took in Yellowstone. That is a one year old wolf, and when the light hit him right, he had a lot of reddish hues like a coyote. Then, note the lack of typical colors on the coyote, but easily ID’d by the ears, facial shape, puffy tail, etc.

0C1F3828-3896-4708-9FAE-14F55BE4CF78.jpegED98EFFC-4B28-4F20-921E-B3C8B1DB3864.jpeg

Very interesting! I agree that is compelling footage for a good wolf ID, and the story recounting the howling seems legit. It’s tough to get a good sense of the ear shape and height, but they don’t look huge like Coyote ears. Couldn’t get a good look at the tails either. What struck me as good for wolf is the coloration of the front animal, including the distinct white facial patch. Caveat: coloration is tough as a definitive ID though. This is true of many species. The size and gait of the critters also strike me as wolfy, but better reference points would be helpful.