Gastro Gnome - Eat Better Wherever

Colorado 3rd vs 4th Season

Corax

I expect that this has already been discussed, but I have been unable to find it.

I am trying to decide whether to put in for Colorado 3rd or 4th rifle season. I have a chance at drawing more units in the 3rd season, but 4th is closer to the rut. Can anyone share experience in hunting both seasons?

I'm no expert but here is my take.

It seems every year the storms hit Colorado about Halloween or a couple of days after. The deer really seem to move right after that.

They recently changed it so 3rd season is 9 days long. If you are heavy on vacation time this is a bonus compared to 5 days during 4th.

It always seems like after the 3rd season storms we hit a bunch of high-pressure blue bird weather until Thanksgiving. If I remember you have a boatload of points and whatever season you pick in those high demand units is probably going to be awesome, but personally I'd go with 3rd season. Mi Dos Pesos.

But I might be biased, I talked a friend into 3rd season this year over 4th and it REALLY worked out well for him. But I was sweating bullets after I talked him into it.

Thanks, Dinkshooter. The extra days would definitely be a bonus, and a better chance with the weather would also be nice. Doing this as an OYO hunt, I am pretty conscious of terrain and the potential of getting snowed in. 3rd season gives me more options.

I was looking at where I stood with points, and figured I am past the point of diminishing returns with the deer. I may put the Wyoming antelope off for another year.

Thanks, Dinkshooter. The extra days would definitely be a bonus, and a better chance with the weather would also be nice. Doing this as an OYO hunt, I am pretty conscious of terrain and the potential of getting snowed in. 3rd season gives me more options.